Young Women Run Texas 2020 | February 22, 2020

Are you ready to flex your political power and ramp up your civic engagement? Young Women Run Texas will connect you to elected leaders, train you on strategies to mobilize for 2020, and more. You'll build a squad of politically ambitious young women and leave empowered, activated, and ready to run for office - or campaign for a candidate you admire. Onward, to Young Women Run and 2020!

Agenda and Sessions Speakers Lunch with Women in Politics

Keynote Speaker: Judge Sasha Moreno

Judge Moreno is committed to serving her community and is actively involved in various organizations and professional associations. She currently serves as the Dallas Chapter President of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Alumni Association. She is also an alumni of the Latino Center for Leadership Development Academy, Dallas Mayor’s Star Council, and Dallas Breakfast Group Community Leaders Program. She is also a member of the following professional organizations: Dallas Bar Association, American Immigration Lawyers Association, Mexican American Bar Association and Dallas Hispanic Bar Association. Read her full bio.



Lunch with Women in Politics

You'll have the opportunity to have a candid conversation with these leaders about their political ambition and journey to elected office. Get advice, build your network, find a mentor! 

  • Michelle Beckley, State Representative, District 65
  • Jennifer Berthiaume, Mayor Pro Tem, Murphy City Council
  • Angie Chen Button, State Representative, District 112
  • Karolyne Carloss, Alderwoman, Van Horn City Council
  • Janet DePuy, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Richardson
  • Natalie Hebert, Board Trustee, Frisco ISD
  • Nell Anne Hunt, Vice-President, Board of Trustees, District 2, Irving ISD
  • Julie Johnson, State Representative, District 115 
  • Carolyn King-Arnold, Councilmember, Dallas City Council 
  • Anne McCausland, Trustee, Frisco ISD
  • Cara Mendelsohn, Council Member, City Council District 12
  • Margaret O'Brien, Judge
  • Kim Olson, Colonel, USAF, ret., Candidate for TX-24
  • Dolores Ortega Carter, Treasurer, Travis County
  • Cristal Retana, Farmers Branch City Councilmember & Manager, Government and Community Relations for Children's Health
  • Amanda Sargent, School Board Trustee, Desoto ISD
  • Maria Tu, Plano City Council
  • Candace Valenzuela, Trustee
  • Ann Zadeh, Councilmember, City of Fort Worth, District 9


Thank you to these Texas leaders for investing their time in young women's political empowerment. View the list of lunch guests and read their bios.  

Thank you, Sponsors

2020 Financial Empowerment Partner


Community Training Partner

Sponsorship Opportunities

The time is now to inspire and activate the next generation of women leaders. We invite you to join us as a partner in this worthwhile and energizing community event. Learn more here and contact for opportunities.